Several Huskies Earn Pac-12 All-Academic Recognition

Per The University of Washington Press Release…..

All five first-teamers play defense: lineman Levi Onwuzurike, linebackers Tevis Bartlett and Ben Burr-Kirven, and defensive backs Elijah Molden and Taylor Rapp.
Both Bartlett and Burr-Kirven were named to the first team for the third season in a row, while Rapp earned a spot for the second straight year.
Burr-Kirven, a senior from Menlo Park, Calif., was named the Pac-12’s Scholar-Athlete of the Year for football last week. The NCAA-FBS leader in tackles with 165 and the UW’s Most Outstanding Defensive Player, he also boasts a 3.69 grade point average in comparative literature (cinema studies).
Bartlett, a senior from Cheyenne, Wyo., has won the UW’s 101 Club Scholarship Award, which goes to the upperclassman with the highest GPA on the team, the last two years. He has a 3.70 GPA as an education, community & organizations major and will graduate after only three years and one quarter his month.
Rapp, a junior from Bellingham, Wash., carries a 3.61 GPA as a business administration (finance) major. The former Pac-12 Defensive Freshman of the Year was also a first-team All-Pac-12 selection last year.
Onwuzurike is a sophomore from Allen, Texas. He has a 3.36 grade point average as a pre-major (arts & science). Like the other three previously mentioned Husky defensive players, he was also named to the CoSIDA Academic All-District 8 team this year (Burr-Kirven and Bartlett were both three-time All-District 8 picks).
Molden, a sophomore from West Linn, Ore., has compiled a 3.66 average as a pre-major (arts & sciences) student. He was named the team’s Special Teams MVP on Sunday.
Five Huskies were named to the second team: sophomore tailback Salvon Ahmed (3.39, pre-social science), senior wide receiver John Gardner (3.55, economics), senior tight end Drew Sample (3.40, communication), redshirt-freshman offensive lineman Jaxson Kirkland (3.42, pre-social science) and senior defensive lineman Greg Gaines (3.23, communication).
The following Huskies earned honorable mention: Andre Baccellia (Jr. WR, Thousand Oaks, Calif.), Jake Browning (Sr. QB, Folsom, Calif.), A.J. Carty (Jr. LS, Santa Ana, Calif.), Nick Harris (Jr. C, Inglewood, Calif.), Peyton Henry (RS-Fr. PK, Danville, Calif.), Jared Hilbers (Jr. OT, Beaverton, Ore.), Ty Jones (So. WR, Provo, Utah), Jordan Miller (Sr. CB, Oceanside, Calif.), Cade Otton (RS-Fr. TE, Tumwater, Wash.), Race Porter (So. P, Seattle, Wash.), Henry Roberts (Jr. OL, Bellevue, Wash.), Joe Tryon (RS-Fr. OLB, Renton, Wash.), Jusstis Warren (Jr. TE, Tacoma, Wash.), and Joel Whitford (Jr. P, Neerim South, Australia).