Jojo McIntosh Wins Guy Flaherty Award At Team Postseason Banquet

Per The University of Washington Press Release…..

SEATTLE – Senior safety Jojo McIntosh won the 111th annual Guy Flaherty Award, the Washington football program’s oldest and most prestigious team award, while Myles Gaskin (offense), Ben Burr-Kirven (defense), and Elijah Molden(special teams) won Most Outstanding Player honors at the Husky football team’s postseason awards ceremony Sunday.
McIntosh, from Los Angeles, capped the afternoon with his acceptance of the Guy Flaherty Award, given to the UW’s most inspirational player and voted on by the players and first awarded in 1908. McIntosh also won the Tyee Sports Council Community Service Award.
Gaskin, a senior tailback from Lynnwood, Wash., earned offensive MVP honors for the secodn year in a row. Gaskin became the first player in Pac-12 history to rush for 1,000 yards in four straight seasons and enters the Rose Bowl Game with 5,202 career rushing yards and 55 career rushing TDs, both the third-highest totals in the history of the conference.
Also for the second year in a row, Gaskin won the Apple Cup Play of the Game Award, this time for his 80-yard score in the Huskies’ 28-15 win in Pullman.
Burr-Kirven, a senior linebacker from Menlo Park, Calif., led the Husky defense with 165 tackles, most by a Husky in three decades. One of four finalists for the Lott IMPACT Trophy and the Pac-12’s Scholar-Athlete of the Year, Burr-Kirven is a top candidate for Pat Tillman Pac-12 Defensive Player of the Year, which will be announced this week.
Molden, a sophomore defensive back from West Linn, Ore., was honored for his special teams play. He finished the season with 27 total tackles.
Senior quarterback Jake Browning (Folsom, Calif.), who holds most of the UW’s top career passing records, and junior safety Taylor Rapp (Bellingham, Wash.) were named co-winners of the Husky Excellence Award.
Kaleb McGary, a senior from Fife, Wash., won the John P. Angel Offensive Lineman of the Year while junior Greg Gaines (La Habra, Calif.) was named winner of the L. Wait  Rising Defensive Lineman of the Year for the unprecedented third straight year. Offensive guard Jaxson Kirkland (Portland, Ore.) and tight end Cade Otton (Tumwater, Wash.) shared the Travis Spring Freshman of the Year Award.
Sophomore cornerback Byron Murphy (Scottsdale, Ariz.) was also honored with the Chuck Niemi Big Hit Award, and Murphy also earned the Earle T. Glant Tough Husky Award.
The Husky Fever 12th Man Award was presented to junior center Nick Harris (Inglewood, Calif.), while senior cornerback Jordan Miller (Oceanside, Calif.) picked up the Don James Perseverance Award.
Senior linebacker Tevis Bartlett (Cheyenne, Wyo.) went home with the 101 Club Scholarship Award for the second straight season, while senior defensive linemen Shane Bowman (Bellevue, Wash.) and Jaylen Johnson (Corona, Calif.) both won the Academic Achievement Award.
The Bob Jarvis Offensive Scout Squad Player of the Year went to sophomore quarterback Jacob Eason (Lake Stevens, Wash.), the Mark Drennan Defensive Scout Squad Player of the Year was given to freshman linebacker Edefuan Ulofoshio(Anchorage, Alaska) and the Brian Stapp Special Teams Scout Squad Player of the Year Award was presented to freshman tight end Jack Westover (Bellevue, Wash..).
For their work in the weight room, freshman quarterback Colson Yankoff (Coeur d’Alene, Idaho) and freshman defensive lineman Mosiah Nasili-Liu (Puyallup, Wash.) were presented the Iron Pup Award while senior tight end Drew Sample(Bellevue, Wash.) was named the winner of the Iron Husky Award.
The Kurt Gegner Memorial Award, given to student staff members, went to Matt Hanna (equipment), Taylor Koch (video) and Tanner Hata (training room).
2018 Washington Football Awards
Guy Flaherty Most Inspirational
Jojo McIntosh
Most Outstanding Offensive Player
Myles Gaskin
Most Outstanding Defensive Player
Ben Burr-Kirven
Most Outstanding Special Teams Player
Elijah Molden
Husky Excellence Award
Jake Browning & Taylor Rapp
Don James Perseverance Award
Jordan Miller
101 Club Academic Award
Tevis Bartlett
Academic Achievement Award
Jaylen Johnson & Shane Bowman
John P. Angel Offensive Lineman of the Year
Kaleb McGary
L. Wait Rising Defensive Lineman of the Year
Greg Gaines
Earle T. Glant Tough Husky
Byron Murphy
Chuck Niemi Big Hit Award
Byron Murphy (at Utah)
Tyee Sports Council Community Service Award
Jojo McIntosh
Bob Jarvis Offensive Scout Squad MVP
Jacob Eason
Mark Drennan Defensive Scout Squad MVP
Edefuan Ulofoshio
Brian Stapp Special Teams Scout Squad MVP
Jack Westover
Travis Spring Most Outstanding Freshmen
Jaxson Kirkland & Cade Otton
Husky Fever 12th Man Award
Nick Harris
Iron Husky Award
Drew Sample
Iron Pup Award
Colson Yankoff & Mosiah Nasili-Liu
Apple Cup Play of the Game
Myles Gaskin
Kurt Gegner Memorial Award
Matt Hanna (equipment), Taylor Koch (video), Tanner Hata (training room)