Huskies Well-Represented On All-Pac-12 Football Teams

Per The University of Washington Press Release…..

December 04, 2018

The Pac-12 champion Washington football team was well represented on the 2018 All-Pac-12 teams, which were announced today by the conference office. Six Huskies earned first-team selections: offensive linemen Nick Harris and Kaleb McGary, defensive lineman Greg Gaines, linebacker Ben Burr-Kirven, and defensive backs Byron Murphy and Taylor Rapp.

The Pac-12’s Players and Coach of the Year will be announced later today.
An additional three Dawgs were named to the second team: running back Myles Gaskin, defensive back Myles Bryant and special teamer Elijah Molden.
Quarterback Jake Browning, defensive lineman Jaylen Johnson, safety Jojo McIntosh and tight end Drew Sample – all seniors – earned honorable mention.
Four of Washington’s six first-team selections were also named to the Academic All-Pac-12 team, which came out on Monday. Burr-Kirven (the 2018 Pac-12 Scholar-Athlete of the Year for football) and Rapp were both first-team All-Academic selections, while Gaines was a second-teamer and Harris earned honorable mention.
Burr-Kirven, a senior from Menlo Park, Calif., enters the Huskies’ date at the Rose Bowl vs. Ohio State on January 1 as the nation’s leading tackler, with 165, the highest total by a Husky in nearly three decades and more than the next two Husky tacklers, combined.
Murphy, a sophomore from Scottsdale, Ariz., and Rapp, a junior from Bellingham, Wash., anchored a Husky secondary that keyed the Pac-12’s top defense. Murphy, the MVP of the Pac-12 Championship game, leads the UW with four interceptions, while Rapp is third on the team in tackles and leads the team in sacks. He was a first-team All-Pac-12 selection last year and was the conferences’ defensive freshman of the year in 2016.
Gaines, a senior from La Habra, Calif., was a second-team All-Pac-12 pick in 2017. In 2018, he’s compiled 55 tackles to lead all UW defensive linemen.
On the offense, McGary, a senior right tackle from Fife, Wash., repeated as a first-team player. Harris, a junior center from Inglewood, Calif., was honorable mention All-Pac-12 as a guard in 2017.
Gaskin, a senior from Lynnwood, Wash., enters the Rose Bowl with 5,202 career rushing yards, third-most in Pac-12 history. He posted his fourth straight 1,000-yard season in 2018, making him the first  player from the conference ever to accomplish that.
Bryant, a junior from Pasadena, Calif., was another key cog in the Husky secondary, playing mainly as the UW nickelback. He frequently shared time with fellow All-Pac-12 second-teamer Molden, a sophomore from West Linn, Ore., who was named the Huskies’ Most Outstanding Special Teams Player at last Sunday’s team banquet.
Washington will take on Ohio State January 1 in the 105th Rose Bowl, presented by Northwestern Mutual.

2018 All-Pac-12 Football Teams