Harris Wins Flaherty; Hunter Bryant, Myles Bryant & Gordon Earn MVP Honors

Per The University of Washington Press Release…..

SEATTLE – Senior center Nick Harris won the 112th annual Guy Flaherty Award, the Washington football program’s oldest and most prestigious team award, while Hunter Bryant (offense), Myles Bryant (defense), and Kyler Gordon(special teams) won Most Outstanding Player honors at the Husky football team’s postseason awards ceremony Sunday.
Harris, from Inglewood, Calif., capped the afternoon with his acceptance of the Guy Flaherty Award, given to the UW’s most inspirational player, voted on by the players and first awarded in 1908.
Hunter Bryant, a junior tight end from Issaquah, Wash., is one of three finalists for the John Mackey Award, which goes to the nation’s top tight end. Myles Bryant, a senior defensive back from Pasadena, Calif., was the leader of the UW defense. A three-year starter, he finished the regular season with 66 tackles. He was also honored with the Tyee Sports Council Community Service Award. Gordon, a redshirt freshman defensive back from Mukilteo, Wash., was honored for his play on special teams.
Junior defensive back Elijah Molden (West Linn, Ore.) picked up a pair of honors, as he won the 101 Club Academic Excellence Award while sharing the Husky Excellence Award with sophomore tight end Cade Otton (Tumwater, Wash.). Senior wide receiver Chico McClatcher (Federal Way, Wash.) won the Academic Achievement Award.
Another player who earned multiple honors was defensive back Trent McDuffie (Westminster, Calif.), who was presented with the Travis Spring Most Outstanding Freshman Award, the Chuck Niemi Big Hit Award and the Apple Cup Play of the Game.
Jaxson Kirkland, a sophomore from Portland, Ore., won the John P. Angel Offensive Lineman of the Year while junior Levi Onwuzurike (Allen, Texas) was named winner of the L. Wait  Rising Defensive Lineman of the Year. Senior left tackle Trey Adams (Wenatchee, Wash.) was honored with the Don James Perseverance Award.
Junior defensive back Keith Taylor (Long Beach, Calif.) won the Earle T. Glant Tough Husky Award, while redshirt freshman linebacker Edefuan Ulofoshio (Anchorage, Alaska), who emerged late in the season to start the final two games, was the Husky Fever 12th Man of the Year.
For their work in the weight room, senior defensive lineman Benning Potoa’e (DuPont, Wash.) and freshman defensive back Mishael Powell (Seattle) won the Iron Husky and Iron Pup Awards, respectively.
The Bob Jarvis Offensive Scout Squad Player of the Year went to freshman quarterback Dylan Morris (Graham, Wash.), the Mark Drennan Defensive Scout Squad Player of the Year was given to sophomore defensive back Zechariah Brown (Seattle) and the Brian Stapp Special Teams Scout Squad Player of the Year Award was presented to freshman linebacker Drew Fowler (Bellevue, Wash.).
The Kurt Gegner Memorial Award, given to student staff members, went to Riley Smith (equipment), Jumpei Dobashi (video) and Maxey Cherel (training room).
Here is a complete recap of all of Washington’s team award winners for 2019:
2019 Washington Football Awards
Guy Flaherty Most Inspirational
Nick Harris
Most Outstanding Offensive Player
Hunter Bryant
Most Outstanding Defensive Player
Myles Bryant
Most Outstanding Special Teams Player
Kyler Gordon
Husky Excellence Award
Cade Otton & Elijah Molden
Don James Perseverance Award
Trey Adams
101 Club Academic Award
Elijah Molden
Academic Achievement Award
Chico McClatcher
John P. Angel Lineman of the Year
Jaxson Kirkland
L. Wait Rising Lineman of the Year
Levi Onwuzurike
Earle T. Glant Tough Husky
Keith Taylor
Chuck Niemi Big Hit Award
Trent McDuffie
Tyee Sports Council Community Service Award
Myles Bryant
Bob Jarvis Offensive Scout Squad MVP
Dylan Morris
Mark Drennan Defensive Scout Squad MVP
Zechariah Brown
Brian Stapp Special Teams Scout Squad MVP
Drew Fowler
Travis Spring Most Outstanding Freshmen
Trent McDuffie
Husky Fever 12th Man Award
Edefuan Ulofoshio
Iron Husky Award
Benning Potoa’e
Iron Pup Award
Mishael Powell
Apple Cup Play of the Game
Trent McDuffie
Kurt Gegner Memorial Award
Riley Smith (equipment), Jumpei Dobashi (video), Maxey Cherel (training room)
You can support DubLife by shopping for the latest Huskies fan gear by clicking on the Fanatics.com “Shop Now” links on the ads seen on our site – When you do, we’ll earn a small commission on each sale.  Thanks for your support! Go Dawgs!!