Greg Gaines, Kaleb McGary Sweep 2018 Morris Trophy

Per The University of Washington Press Release…..

Washington has swept the 2018 Morris Trophy, given to the top offensive and defensive lineman in the Pac-12, as offensive tackle Kaleb McGary and defensive lineman Greg Gaines have been named winners for the 2018 season.

The Morris Trophy, presented annually since 1980 by the Washington Athletic Club in Seattle, is voted on the conference’s offensive and defensive linemen, who select winners on the opposite side of the ball.
Washington has won the award 13 times, including 1991, when the Huskies won both the offensive (Lincoln Kennedy) and defensive (Steve Emtman) honors. The sweep by McGary and Gaines marks the first sweep by any school since 2006, when USC players won both awards.
Last year, Husky defensive lineman Vita Vea won the defensive Morris Trophy. The last UW offensive lineman to win it was Chad Ward, in 2000.
McGary, a senior from Fife, Wash., was named to the All-Pac-12 first team this season, earning that honor for the second year in a row. He was also named the UW’s John P. Award winner, as the team’s top offensive lineman, earlier this month. McGary has started every game of the last three seasons, plus six more as a freshman in 2015, giving him 46 career starts entering the Rose Bowl, Jan. 1 vs. Ohio State.
Gaines, a senior from La Habra, Calif., has played in 53 career games as a Husky, starting 46 of them. He was a first-team All-Pac-12 pick this season after having earned second-team last year. Gaines has also won the UW’s L. Wait Rising Award as the Huskies’ top defensive lineman, for an unprecedented three straight seasons.
Winners of the Morris Trophy are selected by receiving the highest number of votes from opposing players. The process begins with each Pac-12 football coach submitting the names of the top two offensive and defensive linemen on their team to the Morris Trophy office.
A ballot is then created and distributed to opposing players in the conference. A maximum of 8 defensive linemen and 10 offensive linemen from each team vote for the best player each has played against during the current season. Votes are compiled after the Pac-12 season and winners are announced in December.
Washington’s Morris Trophy Winners
+ Defensive winner;  * Offensive winner
Year – Player, Pos.
1981 – + Fletcher Jenkins, dt
1984 – + Ron Holmes, dt
1986 – + Reggie Rogers, dt
1989 – * Bern Brostek, c
1990 – + Steve Emtman, dt
1991 – + Steve Emtman, dt
             * Lincoln Kennedy, ot
1992 – * Lincoln Kennedy, ot
1993 – + D’Marco Farr, dt
1996 – * Bob Sapp, ot
1997 – * Olin Kreutz, c
2000 – * Chad Ward, og
2017 – + Vita Vea, dt
2018 – * Kaleb McGary, ot
            + Greg Gaines, dt